Texas License to Carry Eligibility and Discounts
LTC Benefits Over Constitutional Carry
- Military - 1st Responder - Judge - Teacher - Probation - Veterans - Corrections - Jailer - Prosecuter
OnlineTexasLTC.com has made it easy to determine your Texas License to Carry eligibility, training requirements and discounts. Even with constitutional carry passing in Texas, people are still choosing to get an LTC. Read below to see why.
Why Obtain a Texas License to Carry?
Even with the passage of Texas HB 1927, which allows for the permitless carry of a handgun in Texas, most people are still choosing to get a License to Carry. Permitless carry is very restricted when compared to the LTC. The Texas LTC gives legal protections and multiple benefits when carrying a gun that are not covered under permitless/constitutional carry in Texas. Not only are there advantages within Texas law for having an LTC, the online class also covers material that every gun owner is responsible to know and is crucial to be aware of. Benefits of the LTC include:
– Trespass Protections – Campus Carry – School Zone Carry – Carry in 37 States – Peace of Mind When Carrying – Law Enforcement Interactions – No Background Checks When Buying Guns – Protection If Carrying Past No Gun Signs – Learn the Carry Laws – Legal Protections of an LTC
For more information about Texas permitless carry, please go HERE.
About the Eligibility Questionnaire
The above tool helps to determine your eligibility to receive a Texas LTC. Answer the questions and at the end you will have an opportunity to purchase the Online Texas LTC class as well.
The tool will also let you know of any training exemptions you may qualify for depending on your profession and current qualifications. For example, active duty military and veterans with proof of range qualification within the last 10 years may not need to take the proficiency demonstration (shooting qualification part of the LTC class). The only training required would be the classroom portion of the LTC class. This can be completed with the Online LTC class.
Depending on your profession, discounts from Texas DPS may be available for the LTC application as well as discounts for the Online LTC class through OnlineTexasLTC.com. At the completion of the questionnaire above, you will be informed of any discounts available.
About the Texas License to Carry Online Class
OnlineTexasLTC.com is an approved online course provider through the Texas Department of Public Safety. The online LTC class fulfills the classroom training requirement to receive your LTC, formerly known as the concealed handgun license. The License to Carry is the official name for what may be referred to as a concealed carry permit or concealed handgun license. Other websites that advertise a concealed carry permit may not be for an official Texas License.
Instead of sitting in a crowded classroom for 4-6 hours, this online class can be taken from anywhere and at your own pace. Using your computer, tablet or smartphone, this easy to take class is only 4 hours long, plus a quiz at the end. After the online class is completed, meet with any LTC instructor in Texas for the proficiency demonstration (shooting qualification and range instruction portion). Don’t know where to go to meet an LTC instructor? OnlineTexasLTC.com has partnered with Texas LTC instructors all across Texas and we will help locate one for you.
Submitting Your Application with DPS
Submitting the License to Carry application can seem confusing. The Texas DPS website is not the most user friendly and often causes more confusion instead of answering questions. For a complete walk through on submitting your application, including renewals, please go HERE.
Eligibility criteria for a Texas License to Carry is set in Texas Government Code Chapter 411, subchapter H. GC §411.172 states:
(a) A person is eligible for a license to carry a handgun if the person:
(1) is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of application under this subchapter or is otherwise eligible for a license under Section 411.173(a);
(2) is at least 21 years of age;
(3) has not been convicted of a felony;
(4) is not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment;
(5) is not a fugitive from justice for a felony or a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense;
(6) is not a chemically dependent person;
(7) is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun;
(8) has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or equivalent offense;
(9) is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun;
(10) has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general;
(11) has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller, the tax collector of a political subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state;
(12) is not currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order affecting the spousal relationship, other than a restraining order solely affecting property interests;
(13) has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law of the grade of felony; and
(14) has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174.