Steps to Get Your LTC and How to Apply

The steps and process for how to get a Texas License to Carry / Concealed Handgun License and how to submit the paperwork is the most common question asked. Continue below for details on the LTC application process, including all the steps and training required for the LTC.

Steps to Get an LTC:

There are 3 main components required by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to get your Texas License to Carry.

  1. Classroom Training – Online LTC Class
  2. Proficiency Demonstration (shooting qualification and range instruction)
  3. DPS LTC Application

1. Take the Online LTC Class

The online class is a total of 4 hours, required by Texas DPS, and can be taken at your own pace. You will be issued an LTC-101 certificate immediately upon completion.​

2. Proficiency Demonstration

After the online class, Texas DPS requires every student* to complete the proficiency demonstration. This consists of the shooting qualification and range instruction with an LTC instructor.

3. Application and Fingerprinting

Once the training is completed, the online application (through DPS) and fingerprinting (Identigo) is completed. DPS will mail your license to you once completed!

Our official Texas DPS approved online LTC class fulfills the 1st requirement, the classroom training. Once the online class is completed, the proficiency demonstration needs to be completed. 

Next is completing the LTC application though Texas DPS. Continue below for details and instructions on the application process.

DPS LTC Application Steps

Note: The online application can be started before or after you have completed the online LTC/CHL class and proficiency demonstration.
What you will need:

  • DL/ID Number
  • Credit Card/Debit Card
  • Previous addresses for 5 years prior to application.
  • Previous job history for 5 years prior to application, including the business addresses.
  • All previous criminal history. This includes all arrests regardless of the outcome. Dates of charges, county and disposition date will be needed.
  • LTC-101 Certificate of completion. This is submitted after the application is completed. The LTC-101 is provided after completing the onlineLTC class. The certificate is not complete however until the proficiency test has been done with an LTC instructor.

Step 1 – Apply Online

Go HERE to begin the Texas DPS license to carry / concealed handgun license application.

Unless you are returning to the site to check the application status, select the “Apply” button under “New Users” at the bottom of the page.

Once the application has been completed, it is recommended to save a copy of the confirmation page at the end. You should also receive an email confirmation from DPS. Usually the email address from the DPS will have “RDS” in it, which stands for regulatory services. I have seen these emails go to the spam folder before, so just keep an eye out for it.

Step 2 – Fingerprinting:

All fingerprinting is done through a private company, Identogo. Unfortunately, even if you have been fingerprinted by them in the past, you will still have to go again for the LTC/CHL. In the confirmation email received, there is a link to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting with Identogo. They do not accept walk-ins. You must schedule an appointment and pay ($10).

Signing up through the Identogo website is fairly easy and self explanatory. The one spot that people get confused on is the page that asks for the type of documents you will bring for identification. Read the options carefully. See the screenshot below and choose the same highlighted blue option if you have/will use a US State Drivers License (most common form of ID).

Identogo will then send the fingerprinting paperwork to the state for you. The big inconvenience with Identogo is that they only have a few locations in the area. Based on Google maps, it appears they have a total of 4 locations for the entire Austin and surrounding areas.

Step 3 – Submit LTC-100 / LTC-101 Certificate

The LTC-100 is the form received after completing the LTC/CHL class. If an online LTC class was taken, an LTC-101 should have been issued. The LTC-101 is only complete and ready to submit once the shooting qualification has been taken as well.

These forms should never be submitted to DPS until after the online application has been started with the above steps. It is possible to submit the forms before the application has been started, but DPS will not know what to do with it as there will be no account to attach it to.

A. Start by going HERE. This link will take you directly to the DPS RSD (regulatory services division) for handgun licensing and LTC-100/CHL-100/LTC-101 submission.

B. Follow the images below for the step-by-step instructions.

Step 4 – Wait!

ll that is left now to do is wait. DPS states that applications take up to 60 days to process, however it seems lately they are only taking 2-4 weeks.

LTC/CHL Renewal:

An initial Texas License to Carry a Handgun is valid for 4 years. Renewal licenses are good for 5 years. Before the license expires, a renewal notification letter should arrive in the mail. It will state when your LTC expires and how to renew it. DPS charges $40 for the renewal, however there is no classes or qualifications that have to be completed. Here are the steps:

Go HERE and select “login” under “Returning Users”. Fill in your DL or ID Number and your Date of Birth. Then click on “Continue”. Follow all of the directions and steps to submit the renewal.

After submitting the renewal, DPS will send an email, confirming that an online application has been completed. Unless there is something wrong with the fingerprints and/or photo DPS has on file, the renewal application is finished.