Online Texas License to Carry a Handgun Class

$64.99 $54.99

Resigter Now

Take the official Texas License to Carry a Handgun class online!

  • Approved by Texas DPS

  • Get certified online

  • Take the class on your smartphone, tablet or computer

  • Immediate access to start the class after purchase

  • 6 months provided to complete

This is an online course officially approved by Texas DPS to fullfil the classroom training requirement to get your LTC. This class is for an actual Texas LTC, not some other out of state license.

The Texas License to Carry a Handgun is most commonly known as the concealed handgun license. This is the license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety in order to conceal and/or open carry a pistol throughout Texas. This one license, most commonly refereed to as the LTC, is for open and concealed carry.

The online course is approved by Texas DPS and is needed to get your License to Carry. Traditionally, students would be required to sit in a classroom for 4-6 hours, then proceed to the shooting qualification. Instead, you can now take the class online to fulfill the classroom requirement to obtain a Texas License to Carry. As long as you have an internet connections, this class can be taken from anywhere, not just Texas.

About this Online Course:

  • Fulfills the classroom training requirement for a Texas LTC
  • 4 hours long and can be taken at your own pace from anywhere.
  • Purchase it now and start later
  • Start and stop the class as many times as needed
  • 6 months is provided to complete it
  • Entirely audio/video based 
  • Easy multiple choice test at the end (as required by TX DPS)
  • Certificate of completion immediately available to download 

The class is taught by an instructor with current law enforcement experience in a large municipality. This unique perspective gives additional insight when it comes to concealed carry. The information provided is relevant, accurate and applies to the real world.

Anyone can take the online class. The material covered applies to anyone interested in firearms and goes over firearm safety, Texas law, federal law, deescalation techniques, methods of carry and more. does not issue the actual licence or permits. Although anyone can take the course, and this class is required by DPS to get your license, DPS determines if you are eligible to receive a license to carry.

The certificate issued at the successful completion of this course is valid for 2 years. After the online class, the certificate can be taken to any Texas License to Carry instructor for the proficiency demonstration. The proficiency demonstration consists of the shooting qualification and 1-2 hours of “range instruction”. What is included and how long the range instruction portion goes for is up to each individual LTC instructor. If you are not sure where to go to have this done, OnlineTexasLTC has partnered LTC instructors, ranges and gun stores throughout Texas to help you complete the proficiency demonstration. Click HERE to find someone near you.