Texas generally gives legal gun owners a lot of freedom with the ability to carry their guns. If you’re a non-resident, you can still carry a gun in Texas as long as you’re legally permitted to own a firearm and meet the eligibility requirements. Non-residents can also apply for a special type of license to carry permit specifically for anyone who’s not a resident of Texas. Read on to get the rundown on what to keep in mind if you’re a non-resident wishing to carry a gun while you’re here.
Constitutional Carry for Non-Residents
Officially referred to as the Firearm Carry Act of 2021, this is the law that allows a legal gun owner to carry a gun without a license to carry in Texas. Generally referred to as constitutional carry or permitless carry, it applies to both residents of Texas and non-residents who are visiting or haven’t yet become official residents of the state. According to U.S. LawShield, residents and non-residents must meet the following requirements to carry a gun in Texas without an LTC:
• Be at least 21 years of age
• Be legally able to carry and purchase a gun
• Not be legally prohibited from owning or carrying firearms
In Texas, certain misdemeanor crimes could prevent you from carrying under constitutional carry as well. These eligibility requirements apply to residents and non-residents of Texas.
License to Carry for Non-Residents
Non-residents have the option of applying for what’s called a Texas non-resident license to carry (LTC) permit. To qualify for a non-resident LTC issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety, you must either be a legal resident of a different state or planning to establish legal residency in Texas. You’ll also need to be at least 21 years of age or older to apply for a non-resident LTC in Texas. The application process involves:
• Paying the required fee*
• Completing the necessary LTC training in Texas, which can also be done online
• Submitting the required documents once you successfully complete the LTC class
• Presenting two passport-style photos
• Providing a copy of your driver’s license or state-issued ID from your home state
*According to the Texas DPS, the standard LTC fee is $40.
Concealed Carry Reciprocity
If you have a concealed carry permit from your home state, you may be able to legally carry a gun in Texas by simply bringing your permit with you. In this instance, it has to be from a state that has reciprocity with Texas. As of 2022, Texas recognizes concealed carry permits from more than 40 states.
Transporting Your Firearm to Texas
Transportation laws for firearms in vehicles are the same for residents and non-residents. Without an LTC, a handgun must not be in plain view, unless it’s in a holster. Firearms and ammunition aren’t required to be stored separate when transporting or traveling through the state.
One of the most important parts of being a responsible gun owner is knowing the laws governing where you can legally carry your firearm. Fortunately, firearms training from seasoned experts is readily available. If you’re looking for a high-quality Texas CHL class, look no further than Online Texas LTC. To learn more about our high-quality online courses, reach out to us today at 512-675-2206.