What You Need to Know About Texas License to Carry Eligibility for 18-20 Year Olds

If you are an 18-to-20-year-old Texas resident, you may be surprised to know that you can now apply for a Texas license to carry. This was made possible due to a recent federal lawsuit filed by the Firearms Policy Coalition, indicating that Texas cannot solely deny applications based on the age of the applicant. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) has officially updated its policy and no longer denies applications based on an applicant’s age alone. In this blog, we will discuss what you need to know and the eligibility requirements to apply for a Texas license to carry if you are an 18-to-20-year-old Texan.

Must Meet All Eligibility Requirements

The first thing to note is that applicants must be at least 18 years old to apply for a Texas license to carry. In addition, the applicant must meet all of the eligibility requirements set by the Texas DPS, regardless of the applicant’s age. Among others, these requirements include not having been convicted of a felony, not being diagnosed with certain medical conditions, and not being chemically dependent. It’s important to note that being 18-to-20-year-old does not grant an automatic approval for the license to carry and that all applicants will still undergo a background check.

LTC Application and Training

To apply for the license, you must complete an online application, pay the required fees and complete a License to Carry class. Once your application has been submitted, you will be able to complete the fingerprinting process, which can be done at a designated locations throughout Texas. Additionally, DPS will require you to complete a training course as part of the process to qualify for an LTC. The course must be completed with a DPS-approved LTC instructor and cover firearm law, handgun use, safety, and storage.

Obtain Your LTC

Once all of these steps have been completed, DPS will then review your application and determine your eligibility for a license to carry. Due to the recent lawsuit filed by the Firearms Policy Coalition (https://www.firearmspolicy.org/texas-withdraws-appeal-in-lawsuit-that-struck-down-its-ban-on-handgun-carry-by-young-adults), DPS cannot reject an application from an 18-to-20-year-old applicant based solely on their age. However, if an applicant does not meet the eligibility requirements, their application will still be denied. Texas DPS has also posted this in their FAQ page under eligibility, number 9 (https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/handgun-licensing/faq/eligibility-faqs).

In conclusion, if you are an 18-to-20-year-old Texan interested in obtaining a license to carry, you can now apply without fear of automatic rejection based on your age. However, it’s important to remember that all applicants must meet the eligibility requirements set by the Texas DPS and complete the required training. OnlineTexasLTC.com is the premiere provider for the Texas License to Carry class online.  Take the online class from an instructor with real world experience and from the comfort of your own home from your smartphone, tablet or computer.



Sign up for U.S. LawShield

Basic Firearm Safety 101 Online Class